Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Introduction - hello plus..

General Chat
matthewmoran  
27 Feb 2009 07:34 | Quote
United States
I've been visiting this site - mostly for scales and have my kids on it as well. I didn't even realize there was a forum my shortcut went right to the scale builder. Seriously, this is the best site for learning/improving I've seen. I'm impressed!!!

I am a published author. As stated in my profile, been playing and sporadically performing for many years. After my first book (career book for IT pros - see my site) was published (I'm sitting on a contract for another and have a publisher who likes what I write - hooray) I decided I would make a concerted effort to write more music.. and I have.

This past December, after playing and getting booked for some nice showcases and paid gigs, I put a business plan together for my music and began implementing it. I work out of my house as a consultant and writing, so I have a small degree of flexibility. The result has been very very good.

Now I am knee deep into a self-recorded CD - collaborating with some local musicians and some people online (kompoz.com).

My strength: Lyrics, musical cadence.
I play well-enough - never did the lead thing in high-school, strictly rhythm (he doesn't want to make it cry or sing), slow melodic adds, and arrangement.

I am helping some local performers use social media (editing and creating video, podcast, and blogs) to promote what they do and write on that subject a bit. I am happy to answer any questions on that.

Hmmm... I record using Samplitude SE, an M-Audio Firewire Solo input, MXL guitar and condenser mics, my Ibanez acoustic and Ibanez electric (occassionally). Currently learning to program drums - hate it but improving.

Anyone else doing remote collaboration (share tracks with click intro), send back track with just your added part)?
Phip  
27 Feb 2009 08:22 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 1
Hey Matthew,
Welcome to town (gift basket on its way)!