Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

for you acoustic pickers

General Chat
lance  
27 Nov 2008 08:30 | Quote
United States
how long did it take to develope caliuses on your picking fingers ?

i've never tried finger picking before,though last night after buying
the blueridge i made my first attempt and it went like butter ! i had
no idea how easy it was. my only problem is my picking hand has no
caliuses yet and playing sounds very soft.

i've also never experienced a blackening of the fingers before.
is this normal ? the tips of my picking fingers are grayish/black
from playing.

les_paul  
27 Nov 2008 08:39 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 3
Licks: 2
I have been finger picking for a while but I don't have calluses. Some people grow their finger nails out to pick with, but I couldn't stand long finger nails.

My acoustic always turns my fingers green so I would say that's normal.
Phip  
27 Nov 2008 08:51 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 1
I also don't have calluses on my picking fingers. i use the tips of my nails or the very tips of my fingers. You will get a softer sound unless you use your fingernails and even then you won't get the same volume you get from a pick. I'm working on blackbird now and it has a naturally "softer" deeper sound, even when McCartney does it.
Phip
P.S I just love that sound of fingerpicking on a good acoustic or classical guitar!
JoeDalton  
27 Nov 2008 09:11 | Quote
Yeah I'd say fingernails is better for acoustic picking. Even for electric finger/hybrid picking.
The fingers turning black is not unusual.

Finger picking is far from easy to master by the way.
JazzMaverick  
27 Nov 2008 09:38 | Quote
United Kingdom
Lessons: 24
Licks: 37
I don't have Calluses on my fingers, and I play fine. I don't use fingernails, as I much prefer the soft tone compared to the tough attack tone. Though, it's used nicely with many musicians.