Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Timing issues?

Technique
case211  
1 Nov 2009 01:22 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 2
Licks: 6
okay, don't mean to be a total newbie with this but, anyone got any tips on using a metronome to help improve timing with things? I know that you set up a metronome and play with it in time which i have been doing for the last 4 months or so and whenever I record... but I haven't gotten better in my timing, though my technique has improved. which is more aggravating than ever before, when i was young and had no concept of time(lol jk).

Well, if you have any tips, or advice for alternate usage of the 'nomes to help me out, please do tell, that is a major area that I want to improve in.

Thanks
guitarmastergod  
1 Nov 2009 01:56 | Quote
Canada
i could recomend exercises for alternate picking if that helps you at all? the only thing i can recomend to help with your timing is to play along with songs, thats what i did.
Empirism  
1 Nov 2009 04:34 | Quote
Finland
Lessons: 4
Start with 80 tempo. when I listened your songs, I notice you have same problem that I have. I make it too hurry at times when I play. When you play at slow tempo, you have time to consentrate your chops.

I think its more matter of consentration than any big problem and it only need playing, practising and time. Just practise slow, gradually increase tempo and Im sure you will get there. Have a patience.

Like gmg said, alternative picking is a good way to do it and remember to pay attention to fingerings. Good luck m8.

also when you are practising, practise with easy songs or easy chord progression and scales, so what you play is from the spine to make your practise more effective.

Empirism
Domigan_Lefty  
1 Nov 2009 07:32 | Quote
United States
Always. Always. On EVERYTHING.
Start slow, and slowly speed up
case211  
1 Nov 2009 08:49 | Quote
United States
thanks guys

i'll use what you said with the slower speed too emp
fender_bender  
1 Nov 2009 08:57 | Quote
United States