Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Im a noob and i need help

Music Theory
shreadhead96  
13 Apr 2009 18:53 | Quote
United States
like i dont understand what it means when people say thats in the key of G or Cm (i think you get the idea)
EMB5490  
13 Apr 2009 19:00 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 1
Licks: 1
well a key has certain notes in it, key of g is e minor, which has the notes: gmaj,amin,bmin,cmaj,dmaj,emin,f#dim, you really should look at bodoms lesson on scales. but a key just contains notes that sounds good within it, if you say eminor, its in a minor key sad sounding, so generally would base the chords around the e minor but its the same as g major.
shreadhead96  
13 Apr 2009 19:11 | Quote
United States
sorry to sound dumb but that was kinda confusing
JazzMaverick  
13 Apr 2009 19:58 | Quote
United Kingdom
Lessons: 24
Licks: 37
you know each fret and string holds a note, and each of these notes, in a sense, have rules about them, basically our way of understanding these notes in more detail.

A Key is a group of notes gathered together and can be played going all across the fretboard. Basically a title for these group of notes and it's dominant note.
JustJeff  
13 Apr 2009 20:55 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 2
Here is Music Theory 101 for keys and scales

Some important terms:

KEY: A specific scale or series of notes defining a particular tonality. Keys may be defined as major or minor, and are named after their tonic or keynote. Thus the series of notes with intervals defining a major tonality and based on the key of C is the key of C major. (I will explain what this means a bit later)

SCALE: A series of notes in ascending or descending order that presents the pitches of a key or mode, beginning and ending on the tonic of that key or mode. The degrees of a scale have specific names shown below and each of the unique 12 notes of the chromatic scale can be the tonic note of a scale.

Degrees of a Scale

1 - Tonic
2 - Supertonic
3 - Mediant
4 - Subdominant