Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Writing sheet music??

Music Theory
JPBeausoleil  
31 May 2008 12:03 | Quote
United States
So I got a new program that I can write my sheet music with. Its pretty cool it's called "Finale 2008". There is a free version of it which is pretty badass in itself,or u can download it as a torrent and get the full version. Anyways Im having trouble writing this one passage, I dont really understand what note values to use. What note values would you use to fit 3 notes in a half of a beat in 4/4 time. Would it be some kind of triplet??
BodomBeachTerror  
31 May 2008 12:04 | Quote
Canada
Lessons: 2
Licks: 1
i dont understand sheet music at all
EMB5490  
31 May 2008 12:08 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 1
ive been playing trombone for ovr 6 years and i cant read sheet music.
JPBeausoleil  
31 May 2008 12:12 | Quote
United States
I mostly play by ear but it is good to learn how to read too, for timing reasons and understanding different beats and rhytyms and such things. It is also handy for playing songs onstage that you have never played before.
GRX40  
31 May 2008 12:14 | Quote
United States
Yeah, it would be a triplet.

JPBeausoleil  
31 May 2008 12:16 | Quote
United States
Thats what I thought...so if the triplet opens the measure it would end on the 1 beat?? Right??
GRX40  
31 May 2008 12:18 | Quote
United States
Uh, I'm not sure...

JPBeausoleil  
31 May 2008 12:21 | Quote
United States
Haha....this is where im getting confused as well.
GuitarBoy666  
31 May 2008 13:35 | Quote
Canada
I, too, have no hell of an idea how to understand it.
I'm sure bhs probably would understand it though. He seems to know a lot about music theory and such
Skold  
31 May 2008 16:12 | Quote
United States
Yeaaaah...I'll stick to tab.
ThePusher  
31 May 2008 16:29 | Quote
Canada
Lessons: 3