Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Music Notation

Music Theory
devilchild  
16 Feb 2012 11:39 | Quote
United Kingdom
Say now you have a peice of music written in c major and you wanted, for example, a D sharp-which is the same as an E flat. How do you know when to write it down as a D sharp or an E flat?
bluesguitar101  
16 Feb 2012 12:59 | Quote
Netherlands
Lessons: 1
I believe that you use sharps when going from low to high and flats when going the other way around, but I'm not really sure on this.
Guitarslinger124  
16 Feb 2012 13:10 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 12
Licks: 42
Check this out bro: Key Signatures

I am no expert when it comes to key signatures or staff notation as I am not classically trained and I've never been inclined to learn staff on my own.

Also, check out Jazz's lessons: Music Theory Grade 1

Easy Way To Remember Sharps and Flats

Hope those help.

Rock on!
Domigan_Lefty  
16 Feb 2012 14:23 | Quote
United States
You would write it as sharp if you are going up a scale, or if the rest of the music is mainly sharp. And vice-versa.

So say the entire song is natural, and only one note is flat/sharp. Look at the note before it, if it is higher than that note, it will isually be sharp. If it is lower, it will usually be flat.

Say you have two sharp/flats, whichever you put as the first one, the second will usually be the same.

That is how I learned it.

Source: Lots of Jazz Guitar Theory and Sheet Music. A year of F-Horn Concert theory and Sheets. 5 years of Piano and theory.
Even though ive forgetten 90% of it all.
devilchild  
18 Feb 2012 12:58 | Quote
United Kingdom
Thanks everyone. I get it now :)
MoshZilla1016  
20 Feb 2012 18:07 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 4
Licks: 19
When writing scales you should never write with the same letter value twice in the scale. Take the C scale in all Major modes

C Ionian=C D E F G A B
C Dorian=C D Eb F G A Bb
C Phrygian=C Db Eb F G Ab Bb
C Lydian=C D E F# G A B
C Mixolydian=C D E F G A Bb