Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Complete beginner here left hand!!

Beginners
canova  
31 Oct 2011 06:00 | Quote
I'm a beginner with a guitar, a left hand guitar..do u have some suggestions please? any..
devilchild  
31 Oct 2011 07:26 | Quote
United Kingdom
I don't think a left hand guitar is much different to a right handed one, if you're left handed, when you look at tabs it might be a bit more difficult. Start by learning the string names and reading tab (Try this lesson http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/lesson.php?id=99) then learn some chords. (This lesson is kind of good http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/lesson.php?id=25)but you'll have to think of the tab the other way around, it might be a little bit difficult at first.
I hope this is what you were after, just remember to enjoy playing :)
Domigan_Lefty  
31 Oct 2011 14:40 | Quote
United States
Visibly: Left handed is an exact mirror of right handed.
Once you hold/wear a left handed guitar, it's exactaly the same as right handed, with the exception of you swap the word right with left and vice-versa.

Tabs are no different, Tuning is no different, Sheets are no different, strings are no different, etc.

If you read/hear/whatever a guitar lesson, just swap the words (left hand) with (Right hand), and (right hand) with (left hand).
Everything else will be done the same as labeled right handed.

SN Domigan-
4 years full time Left Handed Guitar
10 years total Left Handed Guitar

TABS ARE NOT REVERSED
Common mistake, but tabs are read exactaly the same.
JustJeff  
31 Oct 2011 22:42 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 2
As a beginner and a fellow lefty, I have some advice for you.

Get rid of it. Buy a right handed guitar, and learn that way. You'll be kicking yourself when you want to buy guitars and you can't because they are all right handed. Be prepared to spend more money for the same product just because you are backwards. Restringing right handed guitars for left handed sucks, and is a waste of time.