Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

How much progress...?

Beginners
cklein1118  
11 Nov 2008 02:31 | Quote
I've been playing for 11 months now and I am curious to know how good some of you guys were at that time of your guitar learning. I intend
to start a band down here in central Florida in the next year or two because I am not a good student and I don't want to end up with a normal job. I want to write music.

Anyways, I am currently able to play some pretty tough stuff but I see some 3 or 4 year veterans playing stuff I cannot, so I dunno exactly how far along I am and want some input, please. Not only that but I tend to compare my playing to Synyster Gates because it makes me want to get much better. Not saying I have anything on him, just that I have no teacher and none of my friends who play are any good and he is basically my youtube teacher some of the time, when I get bored and wanna learn something new.

These are some of the more difficult songs I can play near-flawlessly:

Bat Country (A7X) - trouble with the sweeping part...got lazy and haven't improved on it in a while

Beast and the Harlot (A7X) - very end of the solo isn't fully up to speed yet, but it's very close

Number of the Beast (Iron Maiden) - with a good amp it sounds good, but my trills aren't perfect yet; fingers haven't built up enough strength

One (Metallica)- sounds pretty damn good

The Trooper (Iron Maiden) - haven't worked on it in a while but I got this song pretty much down about 4 months ago

Trashed and Scattered (A7X) - everything but some of the intro and the very end of the solo are good
Ozzfan486  
11 Nov 2008 09:06 | Quote
United States
Licks: 1
Sounds like a band is what ya NEED dude. I'm in the EXACT same spot too except I don't know a bunch of songs, a lotta riffs,but no full songs. Move up to PA for a while we can jam n switch on rhythm and leads! lol.