Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

new gear, your thoughts

Instruments and Gear
dsesh  
27 Dec 2007 21:02 | Quote
United States
well, about a year ago i started playing guitar... bought a super crappy strat copy that just said electric guitar on it... then about 6 months ago i bought a mim strat, im not sure what version im sure the cheapest one... not a squire though. aaanyways. this guitar which i love and have had no problems with and my microcube have been all i have been working with as i play drums and do hip hop production and havent really had money to drop on other gear...im self taught (with the help of you guys and this site) and i would say now i am a beginner intermediate, i know my way around the neck (kind of) and have written a handfull of decent songs.
I went into a guitar shop the other day as i felt i needed a new piece of gear to keep my interest focused and inspire me a little and i came across a few things that blew my mind

first of all.. the amp that i was plugged into at the guitar store... i forgot a guitar even had lo tones i have been playing only on this microcube for so long... it is definatly time for me to get a new amp..... i have about 200-300 dollars to spend on a USED amp... i wanted some suggestions, i play rock, folk, etc... and am thinking an amp with a nice clean sound so i can add my own effects and shape the sound would be nice... another way of going is just a vintage rock amp... i dont even know where to start my search or what i should be looking for so some help on that would be nice

also i was looking at maybe a delay pedol or an effects unit...i was looking at the boss dd6 and the pod six (on recomendation) and was looking for thoughts on those...or something else