Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Tell me if this is right(discussing modes)

Music Theory
melodicminor  
22 Oct 2009 11:26 | Quote
Ok so there's alot of talk about modes which from my understanding is a variation on scales.I want to clarify the use of modes and see if what i believe is right.I just started learning theory so I could be way off maybe.Let's take the dorian mode as an example.I inturpret this mode to be a minor scale with a #6th.I call it a monor scale because of the b3rd.So if I was using the E dorian mode I would esentialy be using the D major scale but landing on E.That's just one example I can throw out and I appreciate any feedback.
JazzMaverick  
22 Oct 2009 15:13 | Quote
United Kingdom
Lessons: 24
Licks: 37
Yeah, that's the jist of it, just to explain in the easiest way possible it's like this:

G Major = G(1), A(2), B(3), C(4), D(5), E(6), F#(7)
A Dorian = A(2), B(3), C(4), D(5), E(6), F#(7), G(1)
B Phrygian = B(3), C(4), D(5), E(6), F#(7), G(1), A(2)
C Lydian = C(4), D(5), E(6), F#(7), G(1), A(2), B(3)
D Mixolydian = D(5), E(6), F#(7), G(1), A(2), B(3), C(4)
E Aeolian = E(6), F#(7), G(1), A(2), B(3), C(4), D(5)
F# Locrian = F#(7), G(1), A(2), B(3), C(4), D(5), E(6)

So all you're really doing is just starting on a different note of the exact same scale. We're just calling them modes because if you use them properly they can technically be the same but sound entirely different.
RA  
23 Oct 2009 04:44 | Quote
United States
each mode is it own scale there is no variation(well it shouldn't be thought in that way). There called modes because there Diatonic. To give explanation in a simple in short way diatonic means that they share all the same notes. So the scales are modes of each other not variations of each other, they have there own identities and sound different for one other.

A scale is minor because it has a minor third and a perfect fifth. so you were half there. I give the rest in triadic thinking

major- 3 and 5
minor- b3 and 5