Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

learnings songs

Technique
trega  
24 Dec 2008 00:57 | Quote
im pretty much wondering if learning songs would actually make me a better guitarists.because the other day i went to a party at a friends house and 3 other people there played guitar so we sat down and played.i've only been playing 2 years and im almost certain all of these guys have been playing 4 or more.the thing that surprised me was that i was better than all of them. the best one out of them played a pantera solo(which was good) but couldn't play anything that good when he was improvising.then i started playing and killed a solo right off the top of my head.my thing is this guy said he knows like 50+ songs and i barley know 2 in full.so i was just wondering if learning songs actually matters as far as my technique, and improv. skill go.

btw sry for the long post.
CTown  
24 Dec 2008 01:07 | Quote
United States
Licks: 1
Everyone learns their own way and to the degree they want to attain. Personally, I think learning the techniques and music theory are great for laying the foundation to build upon. Learning songs helps you see how others apply that "foundation."

More concisely, yes, so long as you are also learning techs & theory.
RA  
24 Dec 2008 05:38 | Quote
United States