Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

United Kingdom
Lessons: 24
Licks: 37

Singing Tips

by JazzMaverick

30 Aug 2008
Views: 20483

A guy on here recently posted a topic asking for tips on singing. This is pretty important for people to know, even though the voice box is an instrument, it can still break if it's miss used, I feel it's important to know how to use it.

I've been taught by a professional singer and the first thing I learned was Posture (how to stand). It felt weird being mocked on how I was standing, as I've been doing this my whole life (aside from the baby years). Being a guitarist, I tend to slant to one side when I play. I never realised how bad this was until she moved me and said "Now you're standing straight" Posture is so important, it may sound weird, but you need to make sure you're straight (align yourself in the mirror) make sure you're not raising your head too high or too low (this puts a strain on the voice and with time can damage your voice box) It feels weird at first, but make sure you do it!

NOTE: Do this EVERYDAY for at least half an hour. You'll notice the change.

There were some comments from some people saying should I strain my voice or not? Some were saying this is the only way to get better with those notes you can't hold properly... WRONG!! - DO NOT strain your voice. Many people have done this and lose their voice at such a young age.

The first thing people do when starting to sing is singing with the throat instead of their lungs. Here are musical examples to explain the difference...

Throat Singing...

Diaphragm Singing...

As you can hear, there is quite a difference. Singing with your throat puts a huge strain on your vocals and can sometimes cause it to hurt the next morning. To achieve stronger vocals and longer lasting notes - it's extremely important to sing with your lungs.