Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Major? Minor? Why? AFRO PLEASE HELP!

Music Theory
Guitarslinger124  
15 Sep 2007 22:40 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 12
Licks: 42
im a self taught guitarist and i dont know much "theory" (as in all those tables and what not and all the I, II, III...etc). Im not really sure how to phraze this so im just gonna spit it out and hope you understand...First question: Why is everything about major? where does the minor come from? i know its the aeolian? mode...i think hehe...Second question...what are the modes in a minor key called? is it still ionian, dorian, etc...or soemthing else...or are there not any modes cause every minor key comes from a major key? i need to clear this up, because i know a crap load of scales and for every scale i know ive memorized the patterns all along the fret board and categorized them into my interpretaion of modes....but i dont think im seein it the right way...so please help if you can? thank you so much!
blackholesun  
16 Sep 2007 05:49 | Quote
United Kingdom
Licks: 1
Ok, I'm not Afro but I might be able to help.