Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

mixolydian blues scale

Music Theory
budsyremo  
1 May 2010 17:01 | Quote
i am a beginner and i am learning the blues scale. I recently came across the mixolydian mode.Now is there a mixolydian blues scale(mode) too or does it only exist for the major scale? Please give me some in depth details regarding this mode/scale.
what i learnt is that if you start playing the blues scale from it's fifth note u get it's mixolydian(correct me if i am wrong).
Pleasssseeee explain in the terms of formula(half step/whole step) of blues and mixolydian.

Admiral  
1 May 2010 19:36 | Quote
Germany
Lessons: 1
Ehm, it doesn't quite work like that i think. Looking at the pentatonic is a complete different thing than the other modes of the major scale. the pentatonic only has 5 notes to it, and therefore you couldnt for example play all 7 modes. I've never heard of the modes of the pentatonic scale or the blues scale. I don't think it would work.
gx1327  
2 May 2010 03:31 | Quote
United States
this is a good point that i haven't thought of before. i'm also learning scales and modes. i know the major scale, minor scale, i know the minor pentatonic, and the minor blues scale. but i never thoguht about applying the knowledge of "mode"s to any scale other than the major...
budsyremo  
2 May 2010 07:41 | Quote
thx for replying admiral and gx1327 . @ admiral if u would google mixolydian blues scale then you would find some results(although those results are not clear @ all). Agreed on the number of notes but the blues scale has atleast 6 notes so it should be there for atleast 6 notes. There gotta be something??!!!
Admiral  
2 May 2010 08:07 | Quote
Germany
its an interesting question i havent thought about it earlier, so thank you first of all!
Other scales do have modes like the harmonic minor:

http://www.guitar-dreams.com/guitarlessons-req-view_fulllesson-lessonid-19.html