Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

Old beginner

Beginners
tibor  
27 Jan 2008 14:20 | Quote
United States
Sorry for double post, I didnt realize first one had posted

Hey all

First time post here so please forgive me if it has already been discussed. I have been playing guitar VERY casusally for the last 9 years and have decided now to do more than mimic the songs of my favourite bands and decided to actually learn to play in all aspects that I possibly can. I will post more questions as I progress with my new learnings.

My first question and the one that has bothered me this entire time is this: while making barre chords for a prolonged period of time, I get a very terrible cramp in the muscle right under my thumb. Now I have been experiencing this the entire 9 years that I have played and nothing seems to aleviate the pain. Different positions, different little hand exercises and none seem to help. I have no trouble in the least in making barre chords as I have had plenty of practice doing so. So I am wondering if it will ever be something I can correct or should I just try playing through the pain?

Thanks
mattmurray  
27 Jan 2008 15:58 | Quote
United States
I have the same problems with barred chords. I don't know if there is any way to completely eleviate the pain, but there are things that I have found to reduce it. Lighter gauge strings certaintly help, and maybe lowering the action a bit so that the strings aren't so high off the fret board. I have a song where the progression revolves around a barred chord so I use a capo where I normally bar it at. But if you are looking for a total cure of that pain I don't have any conventional answers for you.
deefa  
28 Jan 2008 04:04 | Quote
United Kingdom