Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

How do i start learning

Beginners
bhaveshdesai1999  
22 Dec 2007 05:39 | Quote
Heyy strummers,
Am an absolute newbie to the guitar playing club.... I luv music and eventhough i havent had any experience of playing a guitar or any other instrument.. i hav always been digging to play a guitar.. so here i m.. hav bought a C40 Yamaha to begin with..and all ready to learn how to play...So how do u guys suggest should i start learning..? Where do i start....

Doz  
22 Dec 2007 06:43 | Quote
United Kingdom
Maybe you should look for a lesson online that goes through the basics. Try typing in google 'beginners guitar'.

But generally you'll be best off doing finger exercises, a few chords, the major and minor scale, a couple of *easy* songs and the basics of music theory.
Notim  
22 Dec 2007 10:09 | Quote
United States
I agree with Doz,it should be easy to find easy lesons online,and also remember nothing worth while comes easy.Its takes practice,practice,practice.
JustJeff  
22 Dec 2007 11:05 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 2
You got a nylon string? >.<

Well, I guess you can start out just like every other guitarist, but usually the nylons tend to hit more flamenco, classical, and instrumental guitar, which is a little different than your modern day rock star.

Learn how to hold the guitar. In your case, you might be more comfortable in a classical position than a normal position.

Standard position:
You can either keep both feet on the floor or cross your right leg. Lay your guitar on your right thigh.

Classical Position:
Find a something to put your left foot on that's about 6" - 1' above the ground. Place the guitar on your left thigh, and put your right thigh beneath the butt end of the guitar.

Now, I would suggest starting with the 3 major chords in G major: G, C, and D.

Their open chord structures are the following

G C D
E|--3----0----2-----|
B|--3----1----3-----|
G|--0----0----2-----|
D|--0----2----0-----|
A|--2----3----x-----|