Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

what arpeggio is this

Technique
guitarmastergod  
26 Oct 2009 19:35 | Quote
Canada
if the notes in it are

a-b-c-e it would be an
Amadd9 right? but if i started on the C could there be a differnt name for it?
Geetur  
26 Oct 2009 19:59 | Quote
from what I have seen it would still be an Amadd9 although it does have a darker sound.
Geetur  
26 Oct 2009 20:01 | Quote
Schecter_player  
26 Oct 2009 23:47 | Quote
Canada
well. it depends on what you decide the root note is. If you wanted to say it was a C chord, It would be Cmaj7(no5)add6. Essentially, you can call it anything you want as long as you follow the rules.
(i'm kinda new at the theory, did I put all of the terms in the right order?)
RA  
27 Oct 2009 01:19 | Quote
United States
yes, it would be a A minor add9. Starting on C would have no immediate consequence(it does depending on things just bare with me). To me it seems that question your asking is what chord/harmony are our ears going to hear even through the chord may be more then one thing.

we get four chords(more like broken chords at spots) when we make each voice(note) the root

A(1),C(3),E(5),B(9)=A minor add9

B(1),E(4),A(b7),C(b9)= B7 sus4 b9

C(1),E(3),B(7),A(13)= C major13(no 5th,9th) or C major7 add6 (no 5th)

E(1),A(4),B(5),C(b6)= E sus4 b6

chords are my thoughts on them defiantly aren't the only ones nor the best. The sus chords could easily be 11ths just seems better to me for a few reasons to be sus

so now about are ears/brains. Are brains tend to preconceive info at what ever info the senses takes in. Easy way to explain this is when with one eye open you see one color hue and the color eye another hue but when both open it gets fix, or when looking into a microscope with both eyes open you can make it so all you see is the miroc thingy, or try drawing something up side down you will draw better way your using your eyes not your brains preconceptions.