Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

hey I need some tips.

Beginners
stratos_pyro  
4 Feb 2013 17:57 | Quote
hi, so I've been playing for a couple of years now, and I love my guitar and i really wanna be a GREAT musician but i need some help understanding scales and modes and music theory in general. what are some tips you would suggest for learning such things??? any kinda memory tips to remembering scales would be great. i know like, C major and D major and G major already, but i wanna know them all. please help????
thatguitarguy  
5 Feb 2013 15:03 | Quote
United States
Lessons: 1
I learn each scale from 1st to 12th position on the fret board. that way if I move the same basic shapes up or down the neck I know that I am playing the same scale in a different key. the best way to do that is to just practice the crap out of them. right now I only know the pentatonic minor scale and the major scale but I know them in all 12 keys because of my method. I also know all of the modes in both scales. I think it is the best way to approach learning scales.

Also another thing that helps with memorizing scales is playing them in a certain grouping. I first play all the way through scales like so...

-------------------------------0-2-3--|
-------------------------0-2-3--------|
-------------------0-2-4--------------|
-------------0-2-4--------------------|
-------0-2-4--------------------------|
-0-2-3--------------------------------|

then I will play each group of 3 notes. like so...

---------------------------------------------------|
---------------------------------------------------|
-------------------------------------------etc-etc-|
-----------------------------0---0-2-0-2-4---------|
-----------0---0-2-0-2-4-2-4---4-------------------|
-0-2-3-2-3---3-------------------------------------|

it really helps build not just a good memory for the shape but also the sound of the intervals of the scale you are learning.

I hope this helps.
LedZeppRox13