Home | Scales | Tuner | Forum

I am new to Music AND the guitar...

General Chat
Stillawarrior  
23 Nov 2006 14:54 | Quote
United States
Ok basically i just got into music this summer. I joined my school marching band. This iant any old school band we are serious and don't "suck" like most school band lol... we model ourselves after the HBCU's like FAMU, Southern, UAPB, Jackson St., etc. But anyway I've started my career on the tuba/sousaphone I've had not previous musical expirience but my music program is helping me learn very quickly.

Now my problem is i cannot take a "guitar" course at my school. However i am trying to learn it. and seeing as i am ALSO learning the TUBA i cant get 1 on 1 expirience with my BD (band director).

What i want to know is how do you all recommend i go about teaching myself the guitatr... I've only had it for about a month and all i can do is read tabs right now... Ive tried learning chords but
A) the whole Logic of the chord escapes me in reference to notes (theory) I'm not even sure what makes a chord...

B) i cant seem to make my fingers work to get into the positions with out sitting ther for 5 mins trying to push down the right strings...

Basically its really frustrating but i dont want to give up...

oh ad PS... i cant seem to figure out how to use the hammer correctly
CostacheCaragi  
23 Nov 2006 15:16 | Quote
United Kingdom
to start i wouldnt get bogged down in theory yet, try learning the open major chords, and just practice moving your fingers from chord shape to chord shape, then make sure each string rings out without any buzzes or anything, then move on to the power chord, bar chords and try learning a few easy songs, if you practice every day, you'll get it real quick,